

COUNCIL MINUTES

25 MAY 2010

Present: * Mr Eric Silver (The Worshipful the Mayor)

* Councillor Chris Mote (The Deputy Mayor)

Councillors: * Husain Akhtar

* Sue Anderson

* Nana Asante

* Mrs Camilla Bath* Christine Bednell

* James Bond

* Mrs Lurline Champagnie OBE

* Kam Chana

* Ramji Chauhan

* Mrinal Choudhury

* John Cowan

* Bob Currie

* Mrs Margaret Davine

* Mano Dharmarajah

* Tony Ferrari

* Keith Ferry

* Ann Gate

* Brian Gate

* David Gawn

* Stephen Greek

* Mitzi Green

* Susan Hall

* Graham Henson

* Thaya Idaikkadar

* Nizam Ismail

* Krishna James

* Manji Kara

* Zarina Khalid

* Jean Lammiman

* Barry Macleod-Cullinane

* Kairul Kareema Marikar

* Ajay Maru

* Jerry Miles* Mrs Vina Mithani

* Janet Mote

* John Nickolay

Joyce Nickolay

* Christopher Noyce

' Phillip O'Dell

* Asad Omar

* Paul Osborn

* Varsha Parmar

* David Perry

* Bill Phillips

* Rai Ray

* Richard Romain

* Anthony Seymour

* Lynda Śeymour

* Navin Shah

* Mrs Rekha Shah

* Sachin Shah

* Stanley Sheinwald

* Victoria Silver

* Bill Stephenson

* William Stoodley

* Krishna Suresh

* Sasi Suresh

* Yogesh Teli

* Mark Versallion

* Ben Wealthy

* Simon Williams

* Stephen Wright

Council - 25 May 2010 - 1 -

^{*} Denotes Member present

PRAYERS

The meeting opened with Prayers offered by the Rabbi Mendel Lew.

1. ELECTION OF MAYOR

The Mayor called formally for nominations for the Office of the Mayor of the London Borough of Harrow for the ensuing Municipal Year.

Councillor Navin Shah nominated and Councillor Susan Hall seconded that **COUNCILLOR ASAD OMAR** be elected Mayor for the Municipal Year 2010/11.

Councillors Nizam Ismail, John Nickolay, Nana Asante and John Nickolay also spoke in support of the nomination.

There being no other nominations, the Mayor put the nomination of Councillor Asad Omar to the meeting.

RESOLVED: That Councillor Asad Omar be elected Mayor of the London Borough of Harrow for the Municipal Year 2010/11.

2. INSTALLATION OF NEWLY-ELECTED MAYOR

The retiring Mayor, Mr Eric Silver, vacated the Chair and, after a short interval for robing, the newly elected Mayor, having made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, took the Chair.

The Mayor, Councillor Asad Omar, announced that in tribute to the memory of his late wife he named her posthumously his Mayoress. He advised that it was his intention that he would invite Councillor colleagues to attend ceremonial events with him, where appropriate.

The Mayor, Councillor Asad Omar, returned thanks for his election.

3. VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING MAYOR

Councillor Anthony Seymour formally moved a vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor and Mayoress, Mr and Mrs Eric Silver, which was seconded by Councillor Barry Macleod-Cullinane.

Councillors Mrinal Choudhury, Lurline Champagnie OBE, Brian Gate and Chris Noyce endorsed the vote of thanks.

The Council also agreed to hear from Honorary Alderman Toms who added his support to the vote of thanks.

- 2 - Council - 25 May 2010

RESOLVED: That the Council place on record its unanimous appreciation and sincere thanks to Mr Eric & Mrs Evelyn Silver for their year of office as Mayor and Mayoress of the London Borough of Harrow for 2009/10.

4. EXPRESSION OF THANKS BY IMMEDIATE PAST MAYOR

Mr Eric Silver congratulated the incoming Mayor, Councillor Asad Omar, on his appointment and thanked Members of Council for their kind words.

In recalling his Mayoral Year, Mr Silver, expressed that he had attended many functions within the borough. He had also been fortunate to have the opportunity to meet the people of the Borough.

Mr Silver paid tribute to the voluntary organisations and the volunteers of Harrow. He spoke on the generous funding towards his Special Appeal "Easi-Riders Wheelchairs", advising that approximately £55,000 had been raised during the year.

Mr Silver registered his heartfelt thanks and appreciation of the Mayoral Team for their hard work during his year in office particularly during a period of significant change and challenge. He also thanked the Deputy Lieutenant and his Rabbi for their support at the many functions he attended.

He then thanked his wife for serving as his Mayoress and for the commitment and skill she had brought to her role and in serving alongside him. Finally, he thanked the Members of Council and the people of the Borough for granting him the privilege of serving as Mayor.

Mr Eric Silver then left the Dais and was escorted by the Macebearer to his seat in the Council Chamber.

5. PRESENTATION OF MEDALLIONS TO THE IMMEDIATE PAST MAYOR AND MAYORESS

The Mayor, Councillor Asad Omar, on behalf of the Council presented a replica of the Mayor's Medallion to Mr Eric Silver in commemoration of his Mayoralty of the Borough 2009/10.

The Mayor then presented to the immediate past Mayoress, Mrs Evelyn Silver, a Medallion to commemorate her year as Mayoress of the Borough 2009/10.

6. ELECTION AND INVESTITURE OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor called formally for nominations for Deputy Mayor of the London Borough of Harrow for the ensuing Municipal Year.

Council - 25 May 2010 - 3 -

Councillor Bill Stephenson nominated and Councillor Phillip O'Dell seconded that **COUNCILLOR MRINAL CHOUDHURY** be elected Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2010/11.

There being no other nominations, the Mayor put the nomination of Councillor Mrinal Choudhury to the meeting.

The Deputy Mayor, having been duly invested with the Deputy Mayor's robe and Badge of Office, occupied the Deputy Mayor's Chair.

The Mayor then invested the Deputy Mayoress, **Mrs Rama Choudhury**, with her Medallion of Office.

The Deputy Mayor, Councillor Mrinal Choudhury, then returned thanks.

RESOLVED: That Councillor Mrinal Choudhury be elected Deputy Mayor of the London Borough of Harrow for the Municipal Year 2010/11.

7. APPOINTMENT OF CHAPLAIN

The Mayor confirmed to Council that he had appointed Imam Hafiz Muhammad Akram as his religious representative for the Municipal Year 2010/11.

8. RETURN OF COUNCILLORS AND NOTIFICATION OF MEMBERS OF POLITICAL GROUPS INCLUDING LEADERS, DEPUTY LEADERS AND PARTY WHIPS

RESOLVED: That the report detailing the return of Councillors elected at the Borough Council Elections on 6 May 2010, including the membership of the respective political groups, be noted.

9. APPOINTMENT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

RESOLVED: That Councillor Bill Stephenson be elected Leader of the Council.

10. COUNCIL MINUTES

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the Council meeting held on 15 April 2010 be taken as read and signed as a correct record.

11. CIVIC FUNCTIONS

Council received tabled notification of forthcoming events for the Year. The Mayor also nominated Ovarian Cancer Action as his special appeal for the Municipal Year 2010/11.

- 4 - Council - 25 May 2010

RESOLVED: That the dates of the following Civic Functions be noted:

Civic Service at St Mary's Church 20 June 2010

Armed Forces / Veterans Flag 21 June 2010

Raising Ceremony

Battle of Britain Thanksgiving Service 12 September 2010

Remembrance Day Parade and 14 November 2010

Service

Mayoress' Committee Ball 27 November 2010

12. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No interests were declared.

13. PROCEDURAL MOTIONS

No Procedural Motions were moved.

14. EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL

RESOLVED: To note that an Extraordinary Meeting of Council would be held on Thursday 27 May 2010.

15. DATES OF COUNCIL MEETINGS 2010/11

RESOLVED: That the following dates for meetings of the Council in the Municipal Year 2010/11 be confirmed:

Thursday 8 July 2010

Thursday 11 November 2010

Thursday 17 February 2011 (Council Tax Meeting)

Thursday 14 April 2011

Thursday 12 May 2011 (Annual Meeting)

(CLOSE OF MEETING: All business having been completed, the Mayor declared the meeting closed at 9.05 pm).

Council - 25 May 2010 - 5 -